Tag Archives: databases

New database subscription!!

QUT Library now subscribes to Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History.

Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History brings together hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century. Students and researchers will find sources covering a variety of topics including; architecture; art; the British Empire; climate; customs; exploration; family life; housing; industry; language; monuments; mountains; natural history; politics and diplomacy; race; religion; science; shopping; war. A wide variety of forms of travel writing are included, ranging from unique manuscripts, diaries and correspondence to drawings, guidebooks and photographs. The resource includes a slideshow with hundreds of items of visual material, including postcards, sketches and photographs. http://www.library.qut.edu.au/find/databases/fullrecord.jsp?id=5580

Your feedback about this database is welcome http://www.library.qut.edu.au/find/databases/feedback.jsp

AccessEngineering database improvements

AccessEngineering 2.0 features a number of customer-requested enhancements, including:                                                                   

  • A new user interface offering a streamlined, easy-to-navigate design and superior functionality.
  • The addition of a new subject category: Software Engineering.
  • Multimedia resources including instructor ancillaries, PowerPoint presentations, videos, podcasts, and more.
  • Articles from McGraw-Hill’s Engineering News-Record (ENR) covering Environment, Water, Power, and Infrastructure. New articles will be posted weekly, and approximately 500 articles will be archived and available immediately.
  • An Image Bank of four-color images, which will be updated monthly.
  • Full author biographies

The complete contents of the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Science and Technology, offering more than 50,000 terms

http://www.library.qut.edu.au/find/databases/fullrecord.jsp?id=5518

New Journal Issue -available now

Journal of Interior Design

The latest issue of Journal of Interior Design Volume 36, Issue 1 Page v – 62  is available now on Wiley Online Library.

To keep up to date with the latest publishing in your area you can set up email alerts to advise you of new editions to your favourite journal in many databases. Contact your Liaison Librarian for more info.

eBimap enhancement: Flood map

The  Flood Flag Map is now available as a new layer in eBimap, showing potential risks to property and providing information for better planning, building and development.

The map shows light-blue shading for areas with risk of flood from creek, river and tidal sources and yellow shading for risks of flooding from overland flows.

Access to eBimap at http://www.library.qut.edu.au/find/databases/fullrecord.jsp?id=5097

The Flood Map layer option can be selected under Planning > Flood Management.

New database: Visual Thesaurus

QUT has a new subscription to Visual Thesaurus!

Visual Thesaurus is an interactive dictionary and thesaurus that creates word maps that represent meanings and related words. It’s great for finding out synonyms and related terms, excellent when trying to find information for your assignments.

First time users must register for an individual Visual Thesaurus username and password using their QUT email address.

Access via the Library databases page at http://www.library.qut.edu.au/find/databases/fullrecord.jsp?id=5535